BIG WRECK: Bail Out Friday, 3 November 2023 17:46 by madseason
Big Wreck - Bail Out

Bail Out is the debut single from Big Wreck's eighth studio offering, Pages, a 6-track EP that sees the canuck band once again rewrite the code for rock music.

At the start of 2023, Ian Thornley (guitar/vocals) started workshopping the songs for the band's eighth studio effort. After sharing the music with longtime friend and producer Nick Raskulinecz, it became clear that he was not only excited about the direction, but that he was the only choice to lead the production charge on this effort.

In May 2023, the band began pre-production with Nick, and entered the studio with Chris Holmes at the desk, and Nick directing the sessions. Over the span of two weeks, the band tracked 18 songs. Longtime mixing engineer Eric Ratz was the natural fit for this first EP, and rekindled the 'dream team' of Eric, Ian, and Nick. (Fans will remember the magic that was created when Albatross was born in 2012 — an album that has delivered multiple chart-topping singles, and is now Gold-certified.)

Following up on the 7 releases of 2021 and 2022, the band will once again visit the EP model. The first EP in this collection covers all the bases of what fans have come to love about Big Wreck. The EP leads off with the 7+ minute track, In Fair Light, which explores new textures and new territories for the band. It then takes a right turn into the driving alt-rock track, and first single, Bail Out. The core of the EP is filled with a blend of rich colour and artistry with tracks Summerlong, Weightless, and White Lies. The final track is a tip of the hat to some of the biggest influences of Ian and Big Wreck with the track, Bird Of Paradise.

Pages is set to be released next November 24 on Sonyc Union Records. Meanwhile, click on the image to stream/download Bail Out.