BIG WRECK: Bail Out Friday, 3 November 2023 17:46 by madseason
Big Wreck - Bail Out

Bail Out is the debut single from Big Wreck's eighth studio offering, Pages, a 6-track EP that sees the canuck band once again rewrite the code for rock music.

At the start of 2023, Ian Thornley (guitar/vocals) started workshopping the songs for the band's eighth studio effort. After sharing the music with longtime friend and producer Nick Raskulinecz, it became clear that he was not only excited about the direction, but that he was the only choice to lead the production charge on this effort.

In May 2023, the band began pre-production with Nick, and entered the studio with Chris Holmes at the desk, and Nick directing the sessions. Over the span of two weeks, the band tracked 18 songs. Longtime mixing engineer Eric Ratz was the natural fit for this first EP, and rekindled the 'dream team' of Eric, Ian, and Nick. (Fans will remember the magic that was created when Albatross was born in 2012 — an album that has delivered multiple chart-topping singles, and is now Gold-certified.)

Following up on the 7 releases of 2021 and 2022, the band will once again visit the EP model. The first EP in this collection covers all the bases of what fans have come to love about Big Wreck. The EP leads off with the 7+ minute track, In Fair Light, which explores new textures and new territories for the band. It then takes a right turn into the driving alt-rock track, and first single, Bail Out. The core of the EP is filled with a blend of rich colour and artistry with tracks Summerlong, Weightless, and White Lies. The final track is a tip of the hat to some of the biggest influences of Ian and Big Wreck with the track, Bird Of Paradise.

Pages is set to be released next November 24 on Sonyc Union Records. Meanwhile, click on the image to stream/download Bail Out.

Dream The Electric Sleep - Flight

Dream The Electric Sleep are a progressive, concept-rock band from Lexington, KY. Although primarily rooted in progressive rock, the band employs elements of classical, folk, '70s AOR, '80s darkwave and shoegaze.

The band formed in 2009 and debuted in 2011 with the self-produced debut concept LP, Lost And Gone Forever, that received international critical acclaim.

The second album, Heretics, was released in February 2014, and received an overwhelmingly positive response from critics and fans alike.

It's now the time for album number three, Beneath The Dark Wide Sky, released today, July 22, on Mutiny Records. Beneath The Dark Wide Sky was produced by Nick Raskulinecz (Rush, Foo Fighters, Alice In Chains and many more) and was recorded in July 2015 at Nick’s Rock Falcon Studio outside of Nashville, TN.

"The new album is a sonic departure for us in some ways," says vocalist/guitar player Matt Page, "though the record does continue the lyrical and conceptual thread of exploring the way historically significant social, economic, and environmental traumas echo throughout our contemporary narratives. For this album we did specifically draw inspiration from photographs taken of the Dust Bowl in the 1930s by American photographer Dorothea Lange. She believed photographs had the ability to shine an objective light on issues of social justice and environmental degradation and could be used to persuade and motivate social and political change. Much of what motivated Lange, also motivates me."

Check the video for the new single Flight clicking on the image and the previous one, Let The Light Flood Inhere. And stream the whole new album Beneath The Dark Wide Sky on Spotify.
BIG WRECK new album coming soon Friday, 6 June 2014 21:20 by madseason
Big Wreck - Ghosts

Great Canadian rockers Big Wreck will release their fourth full-length album "Ghosts" on July 15 in the USA on Rounder Records, while in Canada it will be out next week.

The album was recorded at Revolution Studios and Vespa Studios in Toronto and produced by Big Wreck's frontman Ian Thornley, alongside Nick Raskulinecz (Foo Fighters, Rush, Alice In Chains) and Eric Ratz (Monster Truck, Billy Talent).

I'm eagerly anticipating this record, especially after having listened to the amazing first single and title track: check the video for "Ghosts" if you still haven't and judge by yourself!

The BIG WRECK's return Wednesday, 1 February 2012 00:36 by madseason
big wreck

Remember Big Wreck? They were formed by Ian Thornley in 1994 and disbanded in 2002. Ian went on to a successful solo career with his own band Thornley.

Now Big Wreck are back and will release their third studio album "Albatross" on March 6th via Anthem Records - Warner Music Canada. The 11-song outing was produced by Thornley, alongside executive producer Nick Raskulinecz (Foo Fighters, Rush) and Eric Ratz (Billy Talent, Cancer Bats).

Watch the video for the very good pearljamish first single and title-track "Albatross" clicking on the image. 

EVANESCENCE new album/new video Saturday, 17 September 2011 17:48 by madseason
What you can watch clicking on the image is the new video for "What You Want", the first single off Evanescence's self-titled third studio album, to be released on October 11th through Wind-up Records.

Produced by Grammy-winner Nick Raskulinecz (Foo Fighters, Rush, Ash, Velvet Revolver, Marilyn Manson), "Evanescence" has had a troubled genesis: the writing sessions began in June 2009 and at the beginning of 2010 the band entered the studio with producer Steve Lillywhite, but later Amy & Co. stopped recording the album with him because he "wasn't the right fit". Then the band left the studio to write more material and came back with Raskulinecz last Spring; finally the album was completed at the beginning of July.

The first single from the new record, "What You Want", was released on August 9th and now you can watch the video for it.

For further info about the band, including american and european upcoming tour dates and the streaming of a new track called "Made Of Stone", head on to Evanescence website.