BAD SUNS release debut album Thursday, 10 July 2014 23:53 by madseason
Bad Suns - Language & Perspective

Los Angeles natives Bad Suns released their debut album, "Language & Perspective" on June 24 through Vagrant Records.

Produced by Eric Palmquist (The Ataris, Night Riots, The Mars Volta), "Language & Perspective" is the follow up to the band's breakout debut EP "Transpose", which hit streets earlier this year; it's comprised of eleven tracks and moves effortlessly from start to finish showcasing the band's stadium ready anthems and catchy hooks.

The video for the first single "Cardiac Arrest" was released in February (watch it here if you still haven't), while a few weeks ago we got the lyric video for "We Move Like The Ocean".

And if you're still not convinced, you can preview the album on SoundCloud.

Rachel Taylor - Come Alive

Rachel Taylor was half of the founding duo that comprised indie pop band He Is We. When Trevor Kelly (the other half) left the band, Rachel broke away as a solo artist with her debut EP "Come Alive", released last June 23 on Republic Records.

According to the official biography, the EP "echoes the "darker side of pop", siphoning strangely melodic hooks through a haze of intense production. She's equally likely to name check influences as wide-ranging as A Perfect Circle, Alanis Morissette, and Imagine Dragons, but this is a decidedly personal affair for her."

Rachel's built quite an impressive legacy already. He Is We toured tirelessly and moved 60,000 records in the U.S., building a diehard audience in the process. Those same fans have stuck with her, and Come Alive and impending album speak directly to them loud and clear. "I want them to walk away with peace," Rachel says. "I want them to know they're not alone. I want them to know, even when they feel silence, somebody is giving them a voice. I can't wait to see them on the road too. They've been more loyal to me than anyone in this world except my dad."

Watch the lyric video for the EP titletrack and first single "Come Alive" clicking on the image above and stream a sampler of the mini-album here.

The Red Jumpsuit Apparatus - 4

I reported earlier that Floridian alternative rockers The Red Jumpsuit Apparatus where about to release all their discography, including brand new (David Bendeth produced) album "4" for FREE.   I'm happy to report that they kept their word: starting from last friday, you can download the band's entire digital catalogue (four albums and two EPs) at for free!

For those interested on physical copies of the records, the band announced that they can be picked up at performances and select retail outlets.

Go to The Red Jumpsuit Apparatus website now and support a brilliant band.

OK Go - The Writing's On The Wall

Chicago alternative rock band OK Go will put out their PledgeMusic funded new album "Hungry Ghosts" next October 14 on Paracadute.

As an appetizer for the new record, the band released last June 17 the EP "Upside Out", featuring 4 tracks to be included in "Hungry Ghosts". Among the 4 tracks, you can find the first single off the new album, "The Writing's On The Wall": OK Go released a staggering music video for the single, in which band members use props to create optical illusions, reflecting the song's description of a relationship that fails because the couple has different points of view. Watch the video now clicking on the image above.

TRUST welcome you to the Joyland Monday, 23 June 2014 22:48 by madseason
Trust - Capitol

I'm a little late on this, as "Joyland", the second album for Canadian dark synth-pop band Trust, was released on March 4, through Arts & Crafts Records.

"Joyland" was developed solely by Robert Alfons since Austra's Maya Postepski left Trust shortly after the release of their first album "TRST". Robert listed video game soundtracks, acid house and early techno music, Kate Bush, Elizabeth Fraser from the Cocteau Twins and Lee Hazlewood as influences for the new album.

The first single from the record was "Rescue, Mister", while the second one is "Capitol". Watch the video for it clicking on the image above.

GHOST TOWN After The Party In The Graveyard Saturday, 21 June 2014 21:57 by madseason
Ghost Town - You're So Creepy

Brilliant Californian electro-goth-funk rockers Ghost Town released their second album "After The Party" at the begenning of June, just six months after their debut full-length "Party In The Graveyard", again on Fueled By Ramen.

While the first record featured many tracks the band had been playing live for a couple of years, the new one includes mostly new songs, like the first single "Acid".

The second single "You're So Creepy", instead, is a song that the fans of Ghost Town already knew. Watch the video now clicking on the image on the left.

GREEK FIRE: Lost and Found Saturday, 14 June 2014 16:43 by madseason
Greek Fire - Top Of The World

At the very end of last year I told you about Greek Fire, a promising band from St. Louis, Missouri, formed in 2008 by members of Story Of The Year and Maybe Today. The group was about to release their sophomore album as two separate EPs entitled "Lost / Found".

Well, the first EP, "Lost", financed by a successfull PledgeMusic campaign and produced with the help of such luminaries as John Feldmann, Matt Amelung and Elvis Baskette, was finally released last May 13. Watch the official music video for the first single "Top Of The World" clicking on the image above.

As already said, if stadium-ready alternative rock merged with progressive pop rock and a touch of post-hardcore is your cup of tea, then Greek Fire is a band to follow.

Rising stars: THE AND Thursday, 12 June 2014 20:30 by madseason
The And - Fade In Time

A nice surprise from Poland: The And are a very cool indie electronic poprock band which released their debut 5-track "Black EP" last March. You can stream the EP now on Spotify.

But what intrigued me the most about The And is their great new single "Fade In Time", a song that will be featured on the band's forthcoming full-length album. This is also the first track written since the band was joined by guitarist/songwriter Piotr Rubik. The release of "Fade In Time" was accompanied by an amazing music video, courtesy of talented Polish director Dawid Krępski. Watch it now clicking on the image above.