THE GAMA SENNIN: debut album out now Friday, 2 April 2021 21:30 by madseason
The Gama Sennin - The Gama Sennin

Psychedelic rock band The Gama Sennin are releasing their new self-titled album today, Friday April 2nd.

Presented in three movements inspired in part by Brian DePalma’s 1974 classic Phantom Of The Paradise and Nietzsche’s Beyond Good And Evil, The Gama Sennin offers an elaborate 10-song suite of exceptional psychedelic adventurism.

The album seamlessly traverses what frontman Kevin McGuire explains as "the journey into madness, into the darkness, into the descent that is the destruction of your ego" before ultimately arriving at "a new dawn, the push through the darkness to the final shedding of skin to become this better version of [one]self."

The brainchild of McGuire, the California-based band fuses alternative energy, psychedelia, expansive desert grooves, and spaced-out prog into a pulse-pounding, mind-bending original sound.

The Gama Sennin is abetted by John Avila (Oingo Boingo/Mariachi el Bronx) on bass, Adam Maples (Earthlings?/Sea Hags) on drums, Dimitri Coats (OFF!/Burning Brides/Ten Commandos) on guitar, Chris Caswell (Daft Punk/The Muppets) on keyboard, Art Pacheco (Jamaica) as a percussionist and very special guest Dave Catching (Rancho de la Luna/Earthlings?/Queens of the Stone Age).

The album was co-produced by Peter Franco and mixed by Dan Lerner of the Grammy Award winning engineering team from Daft Punk's 2013 release Random Access Memories. Mastered by Ian Shefcheck at Capitol Records, lacquers cut by Bob Weston at Chicago Mastering Services,and Pressed at Third Man Pressing.

Check it out clicking on the image.