STARS IN STEREO leaving a mark with new video Thursday, 28 August 2014 22:29 by madseason
Stars In Stereo - Leave Your Mark (Syndicate XX Censored)

Los Angeles based powerful rockers Stars In Stereo unleashed a brand new video yesterday: it's for the titletrack of their last album "Leave Your Mark", released last June via Hundred Handed Inc.

"Leave Your Mark" was produced by the band with longtime engineer Eddie Jackson (Ari Hest, Camera Can’t Lie, The Crash Motive) and finds Stars On Stereo moving to a heavier and darker direction, something akin to Paramore, Flyleaf and Halestorm.

Watch the video for "Leave Your Mark" now clicking on the image above.

Smashing Satellites - Hounds

Salvatore Costa, former guitar player/vocalist of Canadian active rockers My Darkest Days, has just launched a new project called Smashing Satellites

The debut single "Hounds" along with the music video (which you can see clicking on the image on the left) was released last week: "Welcome to my dreams, my nightmares, the highest and lowest points of my life. This is Chapter 1 of my diary in musical form. Love it or hate it - this is me" said Salvo about it.

Smashing Satellites' debut EP "SonicAluzion (A-Side)" will be independently released next September 30 and, judging from the groovy Arctic Monkeys-like single, it will be an EP to look after.

Not just Smoke on HOUSE OF HEROES new EP Sunday, 24 August 2014 16:17 by madseason
House Of Heroes - Satisfied

Alternative rock band House Of Heroes is back with a new release, three years after the fifth full-length studio album "Cold Hard Want".

The rockers from Columbus, Ohio, released this week the EP "Smoke", featuring 6 brand new songs produced by Mark Lee Townsend, best known as guitarist for rock band DC Talk, and mixed by J. Hall.

"Smoke" it's the band's first independent release since 2003's "What You Want Is Now": stream it on House Of Heroes' Bandcamp page and watch the lyric video for the single "Satisfied" clicking on the image above.

It's High Noon for ARKELLS Friday, 22 August 2014 18:30 by madseason
Arkells - High Noon

"High Noon" is the third full-length opus by Canadian rock band Arkells. The album was recorded in Hamilton, ON, in the fall of 2013 with Tony Hoffer (The Kooks, Supergrass, Beck, M83) and released two weeks ago via Universal Music Canada, while the international release is handled by Dine Alone Records.

"If we have any regrets, it's rarely from trying something new. The shit that keeps me up at night are the things I wish I had done, and rarely the thing I tried and failed at" the Canadians say "As a result, "High Noon" is our most confrontational record yet. We didn't want to leave much on the table."

Watch the video for the first single from the record, "Come To Light" (here in a nice acoustic version from the National Post Sessions) and stream the new, amazing album on Spotify now: if you dig catchy indie/synth rock influenced by the 70's/80's pop rock of The Cars, Hall & Oates, E.L.O. and Billy Joel, "High Noon" is a record for you.

BACK BAR ANGEL debut EP Wednesday, 20 August 2014 15:30 by madseason
Back Bar Angel

Back Bar Angel is an interesting pop-rock duo formed during the Winter of last year. It's comprised of Seattle singer-songwriter Kate Lynne Logan and producer/songwriter Kenny Scott, that some of you may remember as part of the brilliant L.A. melodic rockers Swirl 360.

Back Bar Angel debuted two weeks ago with a 4-track EP released through 18Below Music, which you can stream on Spotify. Also, check the lyric video for the slow and countrysh song "Tell It To My Heart" here.

Rising stars: NEW CITY KINGS Monday, 18 August 2014 21:20 by madseason
New City Kings - Giving Up

New City Kings are a young alternative rock band based in Brentwood/Chelmsford in Essex, UK. They have self-released the 4-track EP "Change" last February via their own independent label Bam Records (check the video for the title-track here).

A few days ago the English group debuted a video for their brand new song "Giving Up": watch it now clicking on the frame on the left.

New City Kings has been compared to such diverse acts as Twin Atlantic, The Killers, Deaf Havana, The Gaslight Anthem, John Mayer and Josh Record. So if these names sounds good to you, check this promising band out.

Midnight Cinema - Edge Of The Earth

A year ago I introduced my readers to Midnight Cinema, a brilliant outfit risen from the ashes of Gold selling Californian band Thriving Ivory.

After last year's promising EP, Midnight Cinema are now ready to debut their first full-length album; it's titled "Lightning In A Bottle" and will be released next August 26, heralded by a brand new video for the song "Edge Of The Earth": watch it now clicking on the image on the left.

"Lightning In A Bottle" was written, recorded and produced by the band from front to back, something they'd never done before: "Working in the studio is something that we've always loved doing. We've learned so much over the years, working alongside some amazing artists and producers. We thought that making our own record was something that we would like to try" says guitarist Drew Cribley.

You can preorder the album right now through iTunes. For more information and event details, visit Midnight Cinema official website.

ELIOT SUMNER debuts Information Thursday, 14 August 2014 15:37 by madseason

I Blame Coco's frontwoman/songwriter Eliot Sumner (daughter of Sting and sister of Fiction Plane's singer Joseph Sumner) released last week the first EP under her name.

It's titled "Information" (Universal Island Records) and features a more mature, darker and deeper sound than what Eliot used to deliver with IBC, whilst keeping her wave roots.

"Information" is one of the best EP of the year so far: watch the intriguing noirish video for the first single/titletrack clicking on the image above and listen to the whole EP on SoundCloud.